A New Normal

Eleven months ago, I was laid off from my job of ten years.

Eight months ago, I moved out of the home I loved.

Right after that, I entered a Wellness program for five weeks, living in the home of a dear friend.

Seven months ago, I moved into one of my old apartments and lived with another friend for two months.

Six months ago, the church where I was associate pastor bought a church building, something we had prayed for for ten years. I spent a LOT of the next eight weeks painting…and painting.

Five months ago, God confirmed that He was calling me to Nashville to live near and invest in my sister’s family.

Two months ago, I left my church family, my northern family and some of my dearest friends and moved to Nashville. On the way, I spent a few days visiting friends, attending another week at the Wellness program, and then on to Nashville.

The day after I arrived in Nashville, I interviewed for a job with an amazing company and started working there six days later.

I have slept in at least 17 different beds since May 1, 2016.

Everything I own is in my car or a storage unit 1000 miles away.

My persons, my parents’ graves, my New England and my church family are also 1000 miles away.

I have grieved the loss of those I have left behind.

I have embraced working HARD and full time again.

I have slept in yet another bed, albeit a very comfy one.

I put makeup on every day.

I have a new norm. I am learning new faces, names and hearts.

I am daily able to see and love on my sister and brother-in-law and niece and nephew even when they don’t want me to.

I am learning to trust God with the new and weird and different.

Not having had a place to call home for the last year has become normal. Having my deepest confidants and so much of my family far, far away is becoming normal.

Working full time again is a joy. I am grateful.

Seeing God confirm the call I heard by giving me a job so perfectly and so quickly is amazing.

My new norm?

I wake every morning in a new state, surrounded by people I love. As hard as it was to leave, this new norm is delightful.

I go to a job that is such a perfect fit for me, I am humbled.

I haven’t shoveled any snow this winter. None. Zilch.

There is a whole new world of photography for me to dabble in. The naked trees of winter here are exquisite.

Spring will be amazing.

I live where music thrives.

My heart must learn to love well from a distance; how to intentionally keep those precious New Englanders a part of me.

And I need to learn to let others in, not fearing the letting go that may come again someday.

New norms can be scary. But they are such an adventure. And if we let Him, God offers new mercy every morning to embrace us and the weird newness.

fullsizerender

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A New Normal

  1. Carl Weber says:

    We sure miss you, and have been adjusting to our new normal with you 1000 miles away. Glad you are on this new journey, sad we don’t see you as much. But soon…and I cannot wait to see your world down there.

  2. Heidigirl says:

    I love this.
    I love you.
    I feel caught up now on the whirlwind. ❤

  3. Jen Brennan says:

    SO happy to see an update from you; I think of you often. Here’s to an ever-shifting “normal.”

Leave a Reply

